Receiving a drug possession charge can be a life-altering event. Even a misdemeanor can affect your life and your reputation for years to come, but a felony is even more likely to shake up your plans for the future.
Missouri law looks harshly upon the act of drug possession, so it is important to fully understand the consequences before you if you receive a drug charge. By understanding when possession becomes a felony offense, you can prepare the right defense for the case before you.
Possession of a controlled substance
Missouri controlled substance statutes explain that possession of any controlled substance is punishable as a felony in the state. Simple possession starts as a class D felony punishable by up to 7 years in prison for a first offense. Keep in mind that Missouri courts regard the possession of Marijuana in small quantities under 35 grams to be a misdemeanor offense.
Distribution or manufacturing of a controlled substance
Delivery, distribution, trafficking or manufacturing of controlled substances can constitute a higher degree of felony with more severe consequences. For example, the distribution or sale of drugs near a protected location can result in up to 30 years of jail time. Repeat offenses of less severe acts of possession can also warrant harsher penalties.
A drug possession charge of any degree can feel like an insurmountable obstacle under Missouri’s strict controlled substance laws. However, you do have options to defend yourself and clear your name by exercising your rights and leveraging the evidence in your favor.