Substance-related crimes in Missouri include drug possession and drug distribution. The penalties for both categories vary based on the amount and type of controlled substance in question.
Review the possible consequences of a drug conviction when facing this type of court date.
Possession of a controlled substance
Generally, Missouri categorizes controlled substance possession as a Class D felony, except for cases involving cannabis which fall under misdemeanor offenses. A convicted person can receive a $10,000 fine along with up to seven years in prison depending on the circumstances of his or her case. A person can receive this charge for having any amount of a controlled substance other than cannabis. Many offenders qualify for probation programs.
Distribution of a controlled substance
Drug distribution, a Class C felony in Missouri, carries up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. An individual can receive this charge for knowingly distributing, delivering or transporting any amount of a controlled substance other than cannabis.
Using a minor to transport a drug or selling a drug to an underage person results in Class B felony charges. In addition to fines, a convicted person could receive up to 15 years in prison.
Offenders who struggle with substance use disorder can often avoid jail time by enrolling in Missouri’s drug court program. This program accepts those who have a diagnosis of substance use disorder and pending felony charges involving substance use. Participants must attend court, attend therapy sessions, undergo drug testing, and comply with treatment for addiction and coexisting mental health disorders.